Annual Spring Luncheon

Thursday, Apr 16, 2020 (All day)

At Rush, health is a top priority.  That is why out of an abundance of concern for our community and caution around coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19), The Woman's Board of Rush University Medical Center has decided to postpone our Spring Luncheon event originally scheduled for April 16, 2020.  The Woman's Board, under the fabulous leadership of Katie Frekko and Brooke Kuehnle, plan to hold this event next spring. We will keep you updated as soon as a new date is confirmed. 

In regards to your generous 2020 ticket purchase or table reservation, you have a few options:  1) Simply apply your 2020 ticket/table to the 2021 Woman's Board Spring Luncheon event.  2) Consider making your 2020 support an outright contribution benefitting Rush University Medical Center's education, research and community service programs, as well as our 2020 principal project: The Woman's Board Transformation Fund for the Rush University Cancer Center. 3) Receive a full refund.  

If you have questions, please call The Woman's Board office at (312) 942-6513 or email [email protected]

Funds raised by the 2020 Spring Luncheon will support the Rush University Medical Center education, research and community service programs, including our 2020 principal project: The Woman's Board Transformation Fund for the Rush University Cancer Center. Few experiences are more life-altering than a cancer diagnosis. Our nation’s cancer patients shouldn’t also face increasingly long times to first treatment – 29 days on average – and struggle to navigate the complexity of care. Rush University Cancer Center has assembled a team to study these complexities and establish protocols that transform the patient experience. Their work aims to reduce patients’ time to first treatment, ensure each patient has “the perfect visit,” and create value and reduce cost of care. The Woman’s Board of Rush University Medical Center will support this critical need to study and pilot new models of care delivery. Together, we will create the type of experience every cancer patient deserves: coordinated, cost-effective and highly compassionate.  

Cindy Hensley McCain

Keynote Speaker

Businesswoman, Philanthropist and Humanitarian

Be inspired by the work she does through the McCain Institute, hear about her experiences as the wife of a major political figure, and learn how all of these roles have shaped her into the woman she is today.

About Cindy:

Cindy Hensley McCain has dedicated her life to improving the lives of those less fortunate both in the United States and around the world.

Cindy serves as co-chair of the Arizona Governor’s Council on human trafficking and on the McCain Institute’s Human Trafficking Advisory Council. She is dedicated to efforts to reduce human trafficking in Arizona, throughout the United States and around the world, as well as working to improve the lives of victims of human trafficking. Through her work with the McCain Institute, several partnerships have been formed with anti-trafficking organizations working on solving various aspects of the problem.

Cindy also served on the Board of Directors for Operation Smile, a non-profit organization whose mission is to repair cleft lips, cleft palates and other facial deformities for children around the world. She was a member of the HALO Trust Board, as well as a founding Member of the Eastern Congo Initiative. She is committed to raising awareness of the travesties facing women and children in the Congo.

She also sits on the Advisory Boards of Too Small To Fail and Warriors and Quiet Waters. Cindy holds an undergraduate degree in Education and a Master’s in Special Education from USC and is a member of the USC Rossier School of Education Board of Councilors.

Cindy is the Chairman of her family’s business, Hensley Beverage Company, which is one of the largest Anheuser-Busch distributors in the nation.

Support this event

I would like to support The Woman’s Board with a contribution

Please indicate exactly how you would like your name to be listed in the program.